2008 watch: The Whigs

January 24, 2008


Yeah, I’m late on this one too, but whatever. I haven’t really been excited by straight rock music in a long time; honestly, I think the last time was like 2002. So it’s refreshing here to straight-forward, no-frills guitar rock that actually makes me want to re-listen.

The buzz on The Whigs is just massive; they’ve been profiled by everyone for a while now, and even Esquire named their drummer the best drummer in rock or something. Their initial LP was a dud supposedly (haven’t heard it), but now they’re back for Try #2 on ATO, with Mission Control. I haven’t heard the album yet so hopefully it doesn’t suck; it comes out this month. If it’s good, I might drive up to Pontiac to see them at the CroFoot with Tulsa, another band I sort of liked / was interested in in 2007.

You can hear four songs of the album at the band’s official website.

Leave a Reply

